May 29, 2024  
2018-2019 Catalog 
2018-2019 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Norwalk Community College at a Glance

Norwalk Community College is one of the largest of Connecticut’s 12 public, two-year colleges and a national model for workforce training, educational partnerships, curriculum development and technology initiatives.


Norwalk Community College is the result of a merger between two institutions - Norwalk State Technical College and Norwalk Community College, each founded in 1961.

Norwalk State Technical College opened with a mission of preparing students for immediate employment as engineering technicians in Connecticut’s businesses and industries. Norwalk Community College was established as a municipal college, and in 1966 became a member of the state system of higher education.

In June 1989, groundbreaking officially took place for a new campus to house the two institutions. The new facilities were completed in time for classes in September 1991.

The July 1, 1992 merger of Norwalk State Technical College and Norwalk Community College yielded a comprehensive, multi-purpose, public two-year college dedicated to serving citizens in southwestern Fairfield County.


There are over 8,000 full and part-time students in credit programs and approximately 5,500 in non-credit programs annually.

Degree and Certificate Programs

The College offers 44 career and transfer Associate Degree programs, including an Honors Program, 21 Certificate programs, as well as professional and Extended Studies and Workforce Education non-credit programs.


Situated on 30 acres in West Norwalk, the College is comprised of two academic buildings, the East and West Campus. Classes are held on both campuses and online.

The East Campus building includes Everett I.L. Baker Library, UBS Student Success Center, a 298-seat, PepsiCo Theater, GenRe Forum, Nellie M. Thomas Trust / The Hour Publishing Journalism Classroom, broadcast television studio, Kathryn Croaning Child Development Laboratory School, Art Gallery, the ESL language lab, general classrooms, computer laboratories, administrative and faculty offices.

The West Campus building contains the William H. Schwab Center for Information Technology, Veterans’ Lounge, Culinary Arts Kitchen/Laboratory and dining room, Career and Student Support Center, Tutoring and Writing Center, Learning Commons, Makerspace engineering technology lab, Veterinary Technology Laboratory, Art, Architecture and design classrooms, Art Gallery, Academic Center, general classrooms, computer laboratories, administrative and faculty offices. The West Campus is also home to our Center for Science, Health and Wellness, which includes a fitness center, science labs, Hospital Simulation Unit and Nursing and Allied Health labs.


The Everett I.L. Baker Library on the East Campus contains more than 63,000 books in print, more than 130,000 electronic books and has access to more than 51,000 electronic journals and newspapers, reference materials online, and 25,000 audiovisual materials including full-length films streamed via Films on Demand, and other streaming services.

Area Served

NCC serves the 10-town region of lower Fairfield County, which includes Stamford, Norwalk, Greenwich, Darien, New Canaan, Wilton, Westport, Weston, Redding and Ridgefield.


Approximately 90 full-time faculty and 600-700 part-time instructors teach at NCC. Faculty include Fulbright-Hays Scholars, Yale Mellon Fellows and International Educational Resources Scholars at Yale University. NCC professors hold doctorates from distinguished institutions including Harvard, M.I.T., Columbia and Brown.

Academic Calendar

Students may enroll in fall, winter, spring and summer semesters. Classes are offered during the day and evening, Monday through Friday, on weekends and online. Click to view the current academic calendar at


NCC has an open admissions policy and is non-residential and co-educational.

Honor Societies

Alpha Iota Nu is the NCC chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for two-year colleges.

Degrees Granted

Associate in Arts, Associate in Science, and Associate in Applied Science


Certificate programs require completion of 30 credits or less. The Continuing Education and Workforce Development Division offers a wide array of non-credit career training certificate programs.


Norwalk Community College is accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE), formerly known as The New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC), and governed by the Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education. Many individual programs are accredited by national professional associations.